Mondays with Mom

July 15, 2013

The 6th Monday: If I’ve learned anything from being a mom, it’s that you have to be prepared that the day you may have planned isn’t going to turn out the way you had hoped.  Mothers have to be spontaneous. You have to go with the flow. You have to sometimes make lemonade out of lemons. And you have to know the right words to say when a six-year-old drops his slushy in the dirt.

Yuri:  “Mom! I dropped my slushy in the dirt.  You have to buy me another one.” 

Me: “Honey, I’m sorry you dropped your slushy but because you were careless doesn’t mean you’re entitled to another one.”

Yuri: “But that’s not fair!  Harper now has more slushy than me!”

Harper: “I’ll share with you, Hudda (that’s her made-up word for Yuri)”

So, that was the major part of my “Mondays with Mom.”  Trying to teach my son a lesson.  Appreciating that my daughter was willing to share.  Trying to not let a simple slushy ruin a day that means a lot to me.

And then Dad gets home and joins them in the sprinkler, we found a cicada shell and we picked wildflowers.  Yesterday, we made lemonade.

_DSC7260A

_DSC7203A

_DSC7419A

_DSC7236A

_DSC7499A

_DSC7484A

4 responses

  1. Mel

    LOVE!!!!!! And understand those type of days!!! XOXOXOXOXO

    July 16, 2013 at 10:38 am

  2. Linda Hull

    It’s hard to be a mom sometimes. It would have been so easy to buy him another. You all learned a lot! 🙂

    July 17, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    • Yes, it’s the hardest job I’ve ever had but the most gratifying too. Nothing else quite compares, does it? Can’t wait to see YOUR family soon!

      July 18, 2013 at 8:33 am

Leave a Reply

