Mondays with Mom

July 1, 2014

The fourth Monday: I shared the fourth Monday with family again. This time at Muskegon State Park near the channel where freighters passing through is the biggest excitement of the day — that is if you ask the adults. If you asked Yuri and Harper it would be running with their cousins up and down the dunes, finding a hidden fort along the shores of Muskegon Lake, eating Ruth Ann’s ice-cream way past bedtime, acting out characters in their makeshift puppet show and sleeping in an old popup Starcraft camper.

Watching Yuri and Harper play with their cousins reminded me of my fond memories with my cousins — from trick-or-treating to balancing across the beam in our Pap’s big New England barn to having arguments. Yes, arguments.  Somehow my cousin Eric asked me and my sister what we wanted to be when we grew up. My sister, Leni, answered a bulldozer driver and Eric said a baseball player. I said, “I want to be a mom.” They both told me that wasn’t a real job. The argument ensued and feelings were hurt. Isn’t it reassuring to know that sometimes a disagreement can turn into a fond memory when love is thrown in the mix?

“A cousin is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost.”  – Marion C. Garretty

DSC_2982

SCAN0041

DSC_3076

DSC_3030helga

DSC_3002instant

DSC_3078

DSC_3121instant

DSC_3012

DSC_3152

2 responses

  1. Leni Allen

    Love the pics, Ken! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that one of me Eric and you where was that taken?

    July 10, 2013 at 7:31 am

    • I’m not sure where it was taken but I love that photo SO much, too. Poor Eric is in a girl cousin sandwich 🙂

      July 10, 2013 at 7:37 am

Leave a Reply

