Mondays with Mom

June 10, 2013

This summer I decided to stay home every Monday with Yuri and Harper.  Oh sure, my editing to do list will inevitably grow to what will seem like an impossibility to accomplish but they will only be 4 and 6 once I figured.  I already feel like they are growing much too fast.  Often I tease them I want to put books on their heads so they will stop growing.  They always giggle.  Not only do I feel guilty being so busy but I’m always photographing everyone else’s magical moments.  But not this summer.  Every Monday, which I’ve decided to call “Mondays with Mom” I will spend the day doing things together and I will photograph it.  It’s more for me – – a way to remember but I hope you’ll enjoy our journey, too.

The first Monday: I made pancakes from scratch in our old cast iron skillet, we had a creativity session with modeling clay and I even threw my Virgo tendencies to the wind and let them mix colors.  They also got to stay in their pajamas until after lunch and I let them pick out their own outfits. (I wasn’t lying when I said I threw my Virgo tendencies to the wind!) We “popped some tags” at Goodwill, did a whole lot of snuggling and reading and went to the park where we played and explored nature.  I even gave Yuri a photography lesson.  The last two images are his.

“Life, love, and laughter – what priceless gifts to give our children.”
Phyllis Dryden

_DSC4740

_DSC4772

_DSC5077

_DSC4832

_DSC4906helga

_DSC4863

_DSC4955helga

_DSC5046

_DSC5061helga

These are Yuri’s images. (Can I brag?  Dang, he’s good!)

_DSC4986

_DSC4999

10 responses

  1. Susan Harrison Wolffis

    Kendra.
    What a gift.
    love to you, always
    Susan

    June 11, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    • Thank you, Susan! It definitely fed my soul to just enjoy every second yesterday. Love you too!

      June 11, 2013 at 12:37 pm

  2. Wayne Decker

    Great stuff Kendra! Really. You probably get this a lot, but you’ve got so much talent! I’m continually impressed with your body of work. Keep “Mondays with Mom” as long as you can. They are growing like weeds!

    June 11, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    • Thanks, Wayne! That means a lot coming from someone as creative as you. I still remember some of your artwork from high school. Didn’t you do something with barbed wire or am I going crazy? Anyway, THANK YOU so much! I appreciate your kind words. Hugs!

      June 11, 2013 at 6:47 pm

  3. Love that you’re doing this, and the photos are killer! That last photo Yuri took…man, he’s going to be talented like his momma!

    June 12, 2013 at 1:11 am

    • Thanks, Megan! I know you’ve always pushed me to do personal work and I feel like this is the most important personal work I could ever do. It’s been great so far! I’ll tell Yuri your kind words 🙂 Seriously, he can barely lift the camera but he really composes wonderfully. I don’t think I cropped either one of those…all I did was set the exposure.

      June 12, 2013 at 8:43 am

  4. Leni

    AMAZING!! And Yuri did a good job, too!

    June 12, 2013 at 9:37 am

    • Thanks, Len! We definitely need to get that kiddo a camera! Love you and can’t wait to see you in a few weeks. xoxoxoxo

      June 12, 2013 at 9:40 am

  5. Kendra! These are really amazing! I love it.

    June 18, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

