Veterans Day

Muskegon, Michigan

Today I was hired to photograph the Veterans Job Fair aboard the USS LST 393 in downtown Muskegon.  As I wandered around looking for things that caught my eye, I saw the Muskegon High School’s JROTC practicing before Posting Colors.  This young teenager was so proud, dignified and honorable.  Instantly, he made me feel patriotic and hopeful. Ironically, when I got back to my office, I received a phone call from my sister saying that my father, also a veteran, was nearing the end of his battle with terminal cancer. I’m not sure why but the two events seemed relevant. Intentional. I know today isn’t November 11th – – the day set aside to honor veterans but that’s just what I want to do — thank those that have sacrificed so much for this great country.  Shouldn’t EVERY day be Veterans Day?

DSC_5641A

SCAN0006

4 responses

  1. Val Oakes

    Every day is Veteran’s Day and Memorial Day in our home. I enjoyed reading this so much. I know the feeling of hope you speak of, I felt it the first time I saw my son in his uniform. Proud Gold Star Mom of SSG Curtis Moose Oakes

    May 17, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    • Dear Val,
      You’re doing things the way we all should be doing it. Thank you for your son’s ultimate sacrifice. I’ve heard Carrie mention your son before and talking about him means his memory is always alive. Hugs to you, Kendra

      May 20, 2013 at 7:55 am

  2. Dave Eling USAF Retired

    Kendra,

    Love your eyes view of whats around you. Thanks for being at the Jobs Fair and sharing the beautiful photo, and a from a fellow veteran a thank you to your father for his service.

    May 20, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    • Thank you, Dave. It’s always my honor to be a part of these important events and it’s a bonus when I see your smiling face. Thanks for all you do for veterans. I can tell you are passionate about what you do. My father passed away yesterday far too young at age 57. I’m glad I got to share a little about him on Friday.

      May 20, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

